Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books

Blog Tour: Hello Girls by Brittany Cavallaro and Emily Henry | Review + Giveaway

Posted August 1, 2019 by Madalyn / 8 Comments
Blog Tour: Hello Girls by Brittany Cavallaro and Emily Henry | Review + Giveaway

Hi, everyone, and welcome to my stop on the blog tour for the wonderful Hello Girls by Brittany Cavallaro and Emily Henry! Read on for my thoughts, a few of my favorite quotes, and a giveaway! content warnings: drugs, alcohol, domestic abuse, parental abuse, disordered eating, gambling, murder, violence, mentions of prostitution Having read and loved books by both Cavallaro and Henry, I went into Hello Girls fully expecting to enjoy it, and it did not disappoint. It’s a story of unlikely friendships, revenge, road trips, rebelling against the patriarchy, and ruthless women. (So, pretty much all my favorite things.) “Why did people lie ? With their words, with their voices, with their bodies, with their beautiful houses and beautiful […]

keep calm & read on

Heroine by Mindy McGinnis

Posted March 14, 2019 by Madalyn / 7 Comments
Heroine by Mindy McGinnis

Content warnings: addiction; opioid addiction; extensive drug use (opioid pills, heroin), described in detail; overdose; withdrawal; death; car accident; needles; vomiting **Please use caution going into this review and/or this book if you are a recovered or recovering addict. This book contains content that could be extremely triggering.** Mindy McGinnis is an author who I typically find very hit-or-miss, but her contemporaries always make me think and always tackle difficult subject matter with nuance. Heroine is no exception. In Heroine, McGinnis paints a harrowing and all-too-real picture of the US’s opioid crisis, the myriad types of people affected, and the complexity of the issue itself. We follow Mickey Catalan, a high school softball star in her small Midwestern town. At […]

keep calm & read on

We Set the Dark on Fire by Tehlor Kay Mejia

Posted February 22, 2019 by Madalyn / 1 Comment
We Set the Dark on Fire by Tehlor Kay Mejia

After following Tehlor Kay Mejia on social media for years and hearing some early buzz about her debut, I was highly anticipating this one. And, friends, let me tell you: it did not disappoint! We Set the Dark on Fire is set in a world that feels uncomfortably close to our own. Medio is a world in which women are expected to conform to prescribed subservient roles, one where a whole nation of people is viewed as “illegal” and is constantly demonized by the oppressive government. I hesitate to use “dystopian” as a descriptor nowadays, because it holds so many seemingly negative connotations to a lot of readers. However, We Set the Dark on Fire is a dystopian novel in […]

keep calm & read on

Holiday Gift Guide: Ravenclaw Reads

Posted November 27, 2018 by Madalyn / 9 Comments
Holiday Gift Guide: Ravenclaw Reads

Hi, everyone! As I’m sure you all have noticed, the holiday season is upon us. I always try to do some sort of bookish holiday gift guide on the blog, and for this year’s, I decided to recommend books to each Hogwarts House that I feel fit the characteristics of that House. I’ve wanted to do a series of book recommendations based on Hogwarts Houses for a while, and what better time than now, when you can add these to your holiday wishlist? (This was partially inspired by Rachel @ Rec-It Rachel’s holiday gift guide this year, which I’ve been loving.) Today, we’re kicking things off with my recommendations for people in my House: Ravenclaw! (Well, I *think* it’s my […]

keep calm & read on

ARC Review: Sawkill Girls by Claire Legrand

Posted September 27, 2018 by Madalyn / 11 Comments
ARC Review: Sawkill Girls by Claire Legrand

Content warnings:  grief, loss of a loved one, murder, violence, animal death, gore, talk of blood, abuse, parental abuse, talk of miscarrying, unwanted sexual contact, acephobic language (challenged), scene with a girl purposely cutting open her palm, use of the word “fat” negatively (thank you to Melanie @ Mel to the Any, whose review helped me fill in some cw’s I originally missed!) Okay, after reading Sawkill Girls, I can definitely see this becoming one of the biggest YA releases of this fall. It’s gonna be a great spooky October read for lots of readers, and with good reason. Though it wasn’t a perfect read for me, I immensely enjoyed this chilling, atmospheric, queer, feminist little paranormal book. In Sawkill Girls, we […]

keep calm & read on

Waiting on Wednesday: The Vanishing Stair by Maureen Johnson

Posted September 5, 2018 by Madalyn / 5 Comments
Waiting on Wednesday: The Vanishing Stair by Maureen Johnson

Waiting on Wednesday was created by Breaking the Spine, and is now hosted by Wishful Endings (as Can’t Wait Wednesday). It’s a feature where we show off one of our most anticipated upcoming book releases. Where we tend to add more books to your never-ending TBR. madalyn’s waiting on… why i’m waiting I have been reading Maureen Johnson’s books for YEARSSSSS, and I will read pretty much anything she publishes. Plus, I read Truly Devious last year and enjoyed it, so I’m looking forward to see where the story goes! What book are you waiting on this week? 

keep calm & read on

ARC Review: Truly Devious by Maureen Johnson

Posted January 12, 2018 by Madalyn / 12 Comments
ARC Review: Truly Devious by Maureen Johnson

New Maureen Johnson book? New Maureen Johnson book!!! I was ecstatic to receive an ARC of Truly Devious, because I have been reading Johnson’s books since middle school and I religiously keep up with new releases from her. Plus, a mystery set at a boarding school?! Those are two of my favorite things. Luckily, Truly Devious delivered on my expectations! Fellow fans of Johnson’s writing will be happy to know that Truly Devious has no shortage of her trademark smart writing. First off, I think she truly has found her calling as an author in writing mysteries. Secondly, she’s great at writing female characters who are witty and driven, but who also feel very true-to-life and relatable. Stevie is one […]

keep calm & read on

Waiting on Wednesday: The Case for Jamie by Brittany Cavallaro

Posted November 8, 2017 by Madalyn / 6 Comments
Waiting on Wednesday: The Case for Jamie by Brittany Cavallaro

 Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Breaking the Spine. It’s a feature where we show off one of our most anticipated reads of the year. Where we tend to add more books to your never-ending TBR. madalyn’s waiting on… why i’m waiting I read the first two books in the Charlotte Holmes trilogy this year, and I’m anxiously anticipating this conclusion! This series is a fun spin on Sherlock Holmes, and I really love the main characters and their dynamic together. Can’t wait to read what happens next! Are you also excited for The Case for Jamie? What book are you waiting on this week?

keep calm & read on

Mini Reviews: Contemporary Edition!

Posted March 20, 2017 by Madalyn / 15 Comments
Mini Reviews: Contemporary Edition!

Hey guys! So, for today’s post, I thought I’d switch it up and write a series of mini-reviews for some of the books I’ve read recently. I’ve read a decent amount of contemporaries lately that I don’t have a *ton* of things to say about, but that I still want to discuss with you guys! Without further ado, let’s talk about the books. This was such a pleasant surprise! Romance isn’t usually my genre of choice, but sometimes I get a craving for a romance novel, and this one didn’t disappoint. Quite frankly, my aversion to romance usually stems from the misogyny and heteronormativity that run rampant in that genre, so The King of Bourbon Street was super refreshing on […]

keep calm & read on

Shallow Graves: Kali Wallace

Posted January 21, 2016 by Erica / 14 Comments
Shallow Graves: Kali Wallace

For fans of Holly Black and Nova Ren Suma, a gripping, hauntingly atmospheric novel about murder, revenge, and a world where monsters—human and otherwise—lurk at the fringes. When seventeen-year-old Breezy Lin wakes up in a shallow grave one year after her death, she doesn’t remember who killed her or why. All she knows is that she’s somehow conscious—and not only that, she’s able to sense who around her is hiding a murderous past. In life, Breezy was always drawn to the elegance of the universe and the mystery of the stars. Now she must set out to find answers and discover what is to become of her in the gritty, dangerous world to which she now belongs—where killers hide in […]

keep calm & read on