ARC Review | Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge

Posted January 17, 2014 by Christy / 7 Comments

Format: e-ARC Source: Edelwiess Publisher: Balzer & Bray Publication Date: January 28, 2014 Pages: 352 Goodreads Graceling meets Beauty and the Beast in this sweeping fantasy about one girl’s journey to fulfill her destiny and the monster who gets in her way-by stealing her heart. Based on the classic fairy tale Beauty and the Beast, Cruel Beauty is a dazzling love story about our deepest desires and their power to change our destiny. Since birth, Nyx has been betrothed to the evil ruler of her kingdom-all because of a foolish bargain struck by her father. And since birth, she has been in training to kill him. With no choice but to fulfill her duty, Nyx resents her family for never […]

keep calm & read on

I Need Your Help!!!

Posted January 16, 2014 by Christy / 2 Comments

Help Me!!!!   If you read my Fangirl post last week then you know that my favorite author EVER is coming to a bookstore about 3-4 hours away from me.  It took quite a bit of whining convincing but I finally talked my husband into taking me.  Now, if you read THIS post then you know that I have never been to any kind of author event.  And in all honesty, I’m FREAKING SCARED about meeting Jeaniene Frost.  She has been my favorite author for years and to think that she is the first author that I will meet is exciting and scary all at the same time.      So, the reason why I decided to write this post […]

keep calm & read on

Blogger Tips | Tips For A New Book Blogger

Posted January 15, 2014 by Christy / 13 Comments

I am not an ‘expert blogger’ by any means but I thought I would share a few things that I wish I would have known when I first started blogging. Don’t worry about the STATs – This was one of the lessons that I had to learn the hard way. When I first started blogging I would constantly check my STATs page, and when I say constantly, I mean multiple times a day, and when I would see that I had only gotten a handful of hits, I would be devastated. It took a while for me to realize that getting followers and blog hits don’t happen overnight, it takes time for people to realize that you’re there. Try different […]

keep calm & read on

Top Ten Tuesday | 2014 Debuts I’m Excited For

Posted January 14, 2014 by Christy / 0 Comments

  Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish.   This week’s topic is: 2014 Debuts I’m Excited For           Even though I’ve already read Cruel Beauty, I had to add it to this list because it was one that I couldn’t wait to get my hands on and I really enjoyed it!     What are some 2014 Debuts that you are looking forward to?      

keep calm & read on

Book Review | Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock by Matthew Quick

Posted January 13, 2014 by Christy / 1 Comment

Format: ARC Source: Traded Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers Publication Date: August 13, 2013 Pages: 273 Goodreads | Amazon In addition to the P-38, there are four gifts, one for each of my friends. I want to say good-bye to them properly. I want to give them each something to remember me by. To let them know I really cared about them and I’m sorry I couldn’t be more than I was—that I couldn’t stick around—and that what’s going to happen today isn’t their fault. Today is Leonard Peacock’s birthday. It is also the day he hides a gun in his backpack. Because today is the day he will kill his former best friend, and then himself, with […]

keep calm & read on

Cover Adoration | Such A Gorgeous Sky

Posted January 12, 2014 by Christy / 3 Comments

  For today’s Cover Adoration I thought I would share some books that I’ve come across that has an amazing sky.         Each of these books have a gorgeous sky on the cover but if I had to choose, I think the Storm one is my favorite.   Which one is your favorite?        

keep calm & read on

Stacking the Shelves

Posted January 11, 2014 by Christy / 15 Comments

  Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews that allows us to show what bookish things we got during the week.   Here’s my haul:       E-Books:     Boundless by Cynthia Hand (Borrowed from Library)   Not A Drop To Drink by Mindy McGinnis (Bought for Kindle)   Rebel by Amy Tintera (For Review)  – I’m FREAKING OUT about this one!   Side Effects May Vary by Julie Murphy (For Review)   The Lure by Lynne Ewing (For review)     The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings (For Review)     What did you get?                     

keep calm & read on

Book Review | All Our Yesterdays by Cristin Terrill

Posted January 10, 2014 by Christy / 2 Comments
Book Review | All Our Yesterdays by Cristin Terrill

      My Thoughts *Warning – This review contains confusing sentences that will most likely leave you wondering what the hell I’m talking about. But in order for me not to spoil anything it has to be this way 😉 I have to admit that I have been putting this book off for a while because I’ve always had a hit or miss relationship with time travel books. Finally I decided to give it a chance because I had seen so many positive things about it and I’m so glad that I did. This book was absolutely amazing. When I first met Em I could tell that she was going to be such a strong character and that she […]

keep calm & read on

Times In Which I Fangirl

Posted January 9, 2014 by Christy / 6 Comments

As the title of this post suggests, I thought I would share with you some instances in which I go complete fangirl. 1. When an author responds to a tweet 2. When an author comments on my blog (which has only happened once, so of course it made me fangirl) 3. When I come home to an Amazon package 4. When I find out my FAVORITE author is coming to a bookstore 3 hours away This is just the tip of the iceberg when it comes to my fangirling.  What are some things that make you fangirl?

keep calm & read on

Waiting on Wednesday | Rebel by Amy Tintera

Posted January 8, 2014 by Christy / 2 Comments

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine that allows us to showcase upcoming books that we are eagerly anticipating. My pick this week is: Rebel by Amy Tintera Expected Publication Date: May 13, 2014 The sequel to the action-packed Reboot is a can’t-miss thrill ride, perfect for fans of James Patterson, Veronica Roth, and Marie Lu. After coming back from death as Reboots and being trained by HARC as soldiers, Wren and Callum have finally escaped north, where they hope to find a life of freedom. But when they arrive at the Reboot Reservation, it isn’t what they expected. Under the rule of a bloodthirsty leader, Micah, the Reboots are about to wage an all-out […]

keep calm & read on