Blog Tour & GIVEAWAY || The Lost and the Found: Cat Clarke

Posted September 16, 2016 by Erica || 5 Comments

Blog Tour & GIVEAWAY || The Lost and the Found: Cat ClarkeThe Lost and the Found by Cat Clarke
Published by Crown Books for Young Readers on September 13th 2016
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Thrillers
Pages: 368
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
GoodreadsAmazonB&NBook Depository

Fans of Lucy Christopher’s Stolen, Caroline B. Cooney’s The Face on the Milk Carton, and Natasha Preston’s The Cellar will be captivated by this twisty psychological thriller about an abducted girl who finally returns home to her family—but is she really who she claims to be? 

THE LOST
When six-year-old Laurel Logan was abducted, the only witness was her younger sister, Faith. Since then, Faith’s childhood has revolved around her sister’s disappearance—from her parents’ broken marriage and the constant media attention, to dealing with so-called friends who only ever want to talk about her missing sister.  
THE FOUND
Now, thirteen years later, a young woman is found in the front yard of the Logans’ old house, disoriented and clutching the teddy bear Laurel was last seen with. Can her sister finally be back? Faith always dreamed of her sister coming home; she just never believed it would happen. But soon a disturbing series of events leaves Faith increasingly isolated from her family and paranoid about her sister’s motives. Before long, Faith begins to wonder if it’s the abduction that’s changed her sister, or if it’s something else. . . .

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

my thoughts

A contemporary, mystery/thriller? Heck yes. This genre was one I used to avoid like the plague. I get freaked out a lot when reading thrillers because they make my brain go crazy, but boy, have they been blowing me away lately. I have been really enjoying thrillers and this one didn’t let me down. Now it isn’t going to be a complete favorite of mine, but it kept me interested, on my toes, and going what the hell throughout the whole entire book!

Now, I loved the twists and turns in this novel, but the thing that made me really enjoy this read is the MC. She was the only character that I wholeheartedly enjoyed. Every other character in this book was a complete fail for me. Wait, I take that back her step-dad was good, but he still didn’t resonate as much as Faith did to me. Faith, she just blew me away. I get invested with characters, but not crazily. But, Faith was a character I will enjoy and remember for quite some time.

She was a breath of fresh air. I have been picking up books and putting them down quicker than every lately. Faith, for whatever reason, just made me so intrigued with the rest of the book that this was the first book in awhile that I picked up and read without any hesitation.

Even though I was captivated the whole entire time, I feel like some people may be disappointed in the pacing. It was a little slow at times, but I still wanted to read even though it was slower than some other thrillers I have read. If pacing is a huge thing for you & me saying it’s slow turns you off…give it a try, still.

The ending was a great twist and I saw bits of it coming but I was still left with quite a good shock factor. Clarke does a fantastic job of leaving hidden eggs throughout the whole book to where you’ll want to go back and re-read certain parts of this book and going “HOW DID I NOT SEE THAT.”

 


giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

3 Finished Copies of LOST & FOUND (US Only)


Tour Schedule:

Week 1:
 
Week 2:

About Cat Clarke

Cat was born in Zambia and brought up in Edinburgh and Yorkshire, which has given her an accent that tends to confuse people.

Cat has written non-fiction books about exciting things like cowboys, sharks and pirates, and now writes YA novels. She lives in Edinburgh with a couple of cats, Jem and Scout, who spend their days plotting to spit up furballs at the most inconvenient times. She likes cheese A LOT, especially baked camembert.

Follow Me 🙂
Latest posts by Erica (see all)

5 responses to “Blog Tour & GIVEAWAY || The Lost and the Found: Cat Clarke

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.