Month: February 2015

Stacking the Shelves (68)

Posted February 28, 2015 by Ink Ladies / 19 Comments

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews that allows us to show the books that we received the previous week. Christy’s Haul I didn’t get much this week, but I’m really excited about the ones I did get!  Signed ARC – already read and LOVED! My review will be up closer to publication date. Cold Burn of Magic Kindle Books: The Sin Eater’s Daughter What did you get?

keep calm & read on

ARC Book Review | My Best Everything by Sarah Tomp

Posted February 27, 2015 by Erica / 7 Comments

Format: e-ARC Source: Publisher via Netgalley Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers Publication: March 3, 2015 Pages: 400 Genre: YA, Contemporary My Rating: 4 out of 5 stars You say it was all meant to be. You and me. The way we met. Our secrets in the woods. Even the way it all exploded. It was simply a matter of fate. Maybe if you were here to tell me again, to explain it one more time, then maybe I wouldn’t feel so uncertain. But I’m going back to the beginning on my own. To see what happened and why. Luisa “Lulu” Mendez has just finished her final year of high school in a small Virginia town, determined to move […]

keep calm & read on

Blog Tour: Polarity in Motion by Brenda Vicars

Posted February 26, 2015 by Erica / 6 Comments

Format: e-ARC Source: Publisher Publisher: Red Adept Publishing Publication: December 2014 Pages: 255 My Rating: 4 out of 5 stars Fifteen-year-old Polarity Weeks just wants to live a normal life, but with a mother diagnosed with borderline personality disorder, that’s rarely easy. Her life gets exponentially more disastrous when her sixth-period history classmates start ogling a nude picture of her on the Internet. Polarity would never have struck such a shameless pose, but the photo is definitely of her, and she’s at a complete loss to explain its existence. Child Protective Services yanks her from her home, suspecting her parents. The kids at school mock her, assuming she took it herself. And Ethan, the boy she was really starting to […]

keep calm & read on

Author Brenda Vicars: Guest Post and Interview

Posted February 26, 2015 by Christy / 0 Comments

Interview Questions: About the Book: Q. When did you start writing the book?    A. About four years ago Q. How long did it take you to finish the book?    A. About a year and a half. Q. Was there a certain part of the book that you were set on from the beginning?    A. I wanted Polarity to deal with the worst possible public humiliation. The press about nude pictures on the Internet made me wonder how a teen would deal with being exposed to the world. Would she be able to get anyone to believe her side of the story? Would her boyfriend be able to get beyond it? Q. Was there anything in the book […]

keep calm & read on

INKED | Author Scott Addington

Posted February 26, 2015 by Ink Ladies / 0 Comments

For today’s INKED post, please welcome author, Scott Addington! Name: Scott AddingtonWebsite: www.scottaddington.comTell us a little about yourself: Although I write history, I am not a historian, I am trying to open up history to new audiences as I am of the opinion that many (most) history books are written by academics for other academics and not for the average man/woman/child in the street. I would like to think that my books are short, sharp and to the point as well as written in an engaging and entertaining way.     When did you get your first tattoo? I was 17 when I got my first tattoo – it is a skull with a top hat and wild hair… When did you […]

keep calm & read on

Bookish Confession | I Don’t Mind Series in Different Formats

Posted February 25, 2015 by Christy / 1 Comment

Did anyone else sing the Usher song when they saw that graphic?  Yes, no? Anyway, let me just start by saying, yes, you read that title right.  I really don’t mind when my series don’t match.  Yes, I would prefer them all to be the same style and format, but when publishers are constantly changing covers mid series, it’s hard for me to keep up. I think the biggest reason is I’m always trying to save money, so I usually go with the cheapest way I can find.  The first thing I’ll do is see if it’s up for trade on YA Book Exchange, If so, I’ll try that route first.  If that doesn’t go through, I’ll go with the […]

keep calm & read on

Blog Tour | Review & Giveaway: When My Heart Was Wicked by Tricia Stirling

Posted February 24, 2015 by Christy / 0 Comments

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for the amazing When My Heart Was Wicked hosted by Rockstar Book Tours! Title: WHEN MY HEART WAS WICKED Author: Tricia Stirling Pub. Date: February 24, 2015 Publisher: Scholastic Press Pages: 192 Formats: Hardcover, eBook Find it: Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Goodreads “I used to be one of those girls. The kind who loved to deliver bad news. When I colored my hair, I imagined it seeping into my scalp, black dye pooling into my veins. But that was the old Lacy. Now, when I cast spells, they are always for good.” 16-year-old Lacy believes that magic and science can work side by side. She’s a botanist who knows how to harness the healing power of […]

keep calm & read on

Trivia Tuesday (13)

Posted February 24, 2015 by Christy / 9 Comments

Who is ready for another Trivia Tuesday? I know I am. Reminder: We are going to do a giveaway connected with this feature!! This is how it’s going to work. Please be sure to read all of the below rules! The first person to guess ALL 3 answers correctly will be entered to win a surprise book off of their wishlist Their will be 2 giveaways a year, one at the end of June and one at the end of December This will be INT (as long as The Book Depository ships to you) Everyone is welcome to play each week, no matter if you’ve won the week before.  However, since this is the case, the winner will no longer […]

keep calm & read on

ARC Book Review | Liars, Inc by Paula Stokes

Posted February 23, 2015 by Christy / 16 Comments

Format: e-ARC Source: Publisher via Edelweiss Publisher: HarperTeen Publication Date: March 24, 2015 My Rating: 4 out of 5 stars For fans of Gone Girl, I Hunt Killers, and TV’s How to Get Away with Murder. Max Cantrell has never been a big fan of the truth, so when the opportunity arises to sell forged permission slips and cover stories to his classmates, it sounds like a good way to make a little money and liven up a boring senior year. With the help of his friends Preston and Parvati, Max starts Liars, Inc. Suddenly everybody needs something and the cash starts pouring in. Who knew lying could be so lucrative? When Preston wants his own cover story to go […]

keep calm & read on

High Fives | Blogger Love A Thon

Posted February 22, 2015 by Christy / 15 Comments

Book Blogger Love A Thon mini challenge number 5.  The Book Blogger Love A Thon is hosted by Alexa Loves Books! This challenge is all about our High Fives.  Basically, what we are currently loving in each of the five categories below.  Christy’s High Fives Book:  The book that I’m still having trouble getting off my mind is… Genre: Author: Jennifer is really, really nice.  Erica and I contacted her to see if she’d be willing to do an interview and she was really sweet.  (P.S. Look for her interview sometime in March!) Blogger:  Kirsty from Studio Reads & you can also check out my blog roll on the right 😉 Bookish Merchandise/Book Related Site: I actually just found out about […]

keep calm & read on