Month: January 2015

Stacking the Shelves (65)

Posted January 31, 2015 by Ink Ladies / 26 Comments

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews that allows us to show the books that we received the previous week. Christy’s Haul Bought/Traded The Duff | Beautiful Redemption | Poison Princess | Endless Knight | Landline For Blog Tour: Be sure to stop by February 24th for my review! When My Heart Was Wicked For Review: The Remedy | 99 Days | Bone Gap Big thanks to Simon Pulse, and Balzer & Bray for the e-ARCs Erica’s Haul Gifted by Christy: Halfway to the Grave | Sweethearts | All the Bright Places | Me Since You | The Mark Big thanks to my lovely friend Christy for all of these amazing reads. I cannot wait to read all of them…especially All The Bright Places. *Followers […]

keep calm & read on

ARC Book Review | When Reason Breaks by Cindy L. Rodriguez

Posted January 30, 2015 by Erica / 11 Comments

Format: e-ARC Source: Publisher via Netgalley Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens Publication Date: February 10, 2015 Pages: 304 My Rating:4.5 out of 5 stars 13 Reasons Why meets the poetry of Emily Dickinson in this gripping debut novel perfect for fans of Sara Zarr or Jennifer Brown. A Goth girl with an attitude problem, Elizabeth Davis must learn to control her anger before it destroys her. Emily Delgado appears to be a smart, sweet girl, with a normal life, but as depression clutches at her, she struggles to feel normal. Both girls are in Ms. Diaz’s English class, where they connect to the words of Emily Dickinson. Both are hovering on the edge of an emotional precipice. One of them will […]

keep calm & read on

INKED | Samantha from I Heart YA Fiction

Posted January 29, 2015 by Ink Ladies / 9 Comments

  Today we have Samantha from I Heart YA Fiction joining us!  Be sure to leave her a comment and let her know what you think of her INK!   Name: Samantha Randolph   Website: I Heart YA Fiction   Tell us a little about yourself: Hello! I’m Samantha. Between being an English major, a blogger, a reviewer, and an intern at a literary agency and publishing company, about 75% of my time is spend reading, which I love. 🙂 The other 25% is made up of Netflix binging, sleeping, social media-ing (particularly pinning tattoos on my Pinterest board), more sleeping, and hanging out with my best friend and roommate (without whom I probably wouldn’t have a social life at […]

keep calm & read on

10 Authors We Need to Read

Posted January 28, 2015 by Christy / 17 Comments

Erica’s Authors to Read We all have so many books that just compile our TBR, but mostly what I have been noticing on my TBR are the authors that I have not gotten to read, yet. There are so many authors that I just haven’t gotten to yet, and I know that many of you will see them and totally judge me. Anyway, I know I need to get around to reading a lot of these – a lot of them are highly recommended by Christy (cause she’s the best).  Jennifer L. Armentrout  Tahereh Mafi Veronica Roth Marie Lu    Jeaniene Frost Christy’s Authors to Read I’m kind of ashamed to put some of these authors on here because I […]

keep calm & read on

Trivia Tuesday (9)

Posted January 27, 2015 by Christy / 9 Comments

I hope you guys are ready for another fantastic round of Trivia Tuesday Reminder: We are going to do a giveaway connected with this feature!! This is how it’s going to work. Please be sure to read all of the below rules! The first person to guess ALL 3 answers correctly will be entered to win a surprise book off of their wishlist Their will be 2 giveaways a year, one at the end of June and one at the end of December This will be INT (as long as The Book Depository ships to you) Everyone is welcome to play each week, no matter if you’ve won the week before.  However, since this is the case, the winner will […]

keep calm & read on

ARC Book Review | The Last Time We Say Goodbye by Cynthia Hand

Posted January 26, 2015 by Christy / 20 Comments

Format: e-ARC Source: Publisher via Edelweiss Publisher: HarperTeen Publication Date: February 10, 2015 My Rating: 4.5 out of 5 Stars There’s death all around us. We just don’t pay attention. Until we do. The last time Lex was happy, it was before. When she had a family that was whole. A boyfriend she loved. Friends who didn’t look at her like she might break down at any moment. Now she’s just the girl whose brother killed himself. And it feels like that’s all she’ll ever be. As Lex starts to put her life back together, she tries to block out what happened the night Tyler died. But there’s a secret she hasn’t told anyone-a text Tyler sent, that could have […]

keep calm & read on

Sunday Silliness (4) Guess Who

Posted January 25, 2015 by Ink Ladies / 13 Comments

  Welcome to another Sunday Silliness!  Today we’re going to play a little game that I’m going to call Guess Who.   How it Works: I’m going to post a the synopsis of a few books and you have to guess which book it is. These will all be books that have already been published. FYI – I’ll be omitting anything in the summary that may give it away (ex. author’s name, etc)    Sound fun?  I think so 🙂 I also thought it may be a good way to find some new books to read (Like we all don’t have enough on our TBR pile hehe)     Book 1 Anyone who’s had something truly crappy happen to them will tell you: It’s […]

keep calm & read on

Stacking the Shelves (64)

Posted January 24, 2015 by Ink Ladies / 48 Comments

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews that allows us to show the books that we received the previous week. Christy’s Haul: I actually got quite a few books this week, and I’m so excited read all of them 🙂 Won: Won in Jeaniene Frost’s Blogger Appreciation Giveaway! (Thanks, Jeaniene!) Halfway to the Grave | Bound by Flames I also won a $50 Amazon gift card in the Blogger Appreciation Giveaway and I bought When and Red Rising.  I also pre-ordered a few other books.  (Thanks, Jeaniene!) When | Red Rising Won All the Bright Places from a Twitter Giveaway (Thanks Cassie!) Won the stack of books on the left from another Twitter Giveaway (Thanks, Alexa!) […]

keep calm & read on

ARC Book Review | Then Frederick Ran by Nicholas M. Bugden

Posted January 23, 2015 by Erica / 3 Comments

Format: e-ARC Source: Author via Goodreads Publisher: Spider House Publication Date: February 18, 2015 My Rating; 4 out of 5 stars Don’t quit your day job, sleep through it. Would you give your manager complete control over your body to sleep through a day of work? Or spend a night at a sleep lab to get a video recording of your dreams? Then Frederick Ran is a collection of short stories that include a restless husband who purchases a mask that lets him be anyone for a night; a bully who clones himself for a funeral to hear what people actually think about him; DNA analysis that thinks it can weed-out the violent at birth, leading to a difficult decision […]

keep calm & read on

INKED | Author K. Larsen

Posted January 22, 2015 by Ink Ladies / 6 Comments

  For today’s INKED post, we have author K. Larsen joining us!  Be sure to leave her a comment and let her know what you think about her ink!     Name: K. Larsen   Website: www.klarsenauthor.com   Tell us a little about yourself:  I have a weird addiction to goat cheese and chocolate martinis, not together though. I adore my dog.  He is the most awesome snuggledoo in the history of dogs. Seriously.  I hate dirty dishes.  I like sarcasm and funny people.I should probably be running right now… because of the goat cheese….and stuff.       When did you get your first tattoo?  On my 18th birthday.  When did you get your last tattoo? This past September! (2014)  […]

keep calm & read on